KZN Drum Kit Player of the Year 2019


KZN Drum Kit Player of the Year Competition

Saturday, 19th October 2019


On Saturday the 19th of October, the SASMT (South African Society of Music Teachers) in collaboration with the Crawford La Lucia music departments launched the first-ever 'KZN Drum Kit Player of the Year' competition. Drummers from all over KZN came together to compete for the coveted title and to set the stage alight with their incredible talent and skills. Each drummer had to perform a drum solo and play a piece (or two in the Senior age groups) for the judges. The expert panel of judges had a difficult task as all the drummers brought their absolute best and performed to a very high standard. After much deliberation, the following winners were announced in the different age categories. 


Super Junior Category

1st: Esihle Mazibuko

2nd: Matthew Gale


Junior Category

1st: Obed Ephraim

2nd: Mojo Woods

3rd: Caldon Pillay


Intermediate Category

1st: Ryan Nagan

2nd: Alexander Singh

3rd: Jason Warren


Senior Category

1st: Sabian Singh

2nd: Mitchell Kruger

3rd: Caleb Deeplal


Open Category

1st: Sabian Singh

2nd: Mmofa Matjele

3rd: Obed Ephraim


KZN Drum Kit Player of the Year (Junior): Obed Ephraim

KZN Drum Kit Player of the Year (Senior): Sabian Singh


Event organisers, Heidi van Schoor and Gareth Gale agreed that drummers performed at an exceptionally high level and wowed the judges with their explosive solos, solid groove, and dynamic musicality! The day was a huge success and we are looking forward to an even bigger event in 2020! All prizes for the day were sponsored by Musician's GearZone and we are truly grateful for their  incredible support!